ZOiS is organised into the areas of management, communication, administration/finance, IT, research management/scientific coordination and research. The research area currently comprises five research clusters in which the various ZOiS projects are located.

ZOiS gGmbH and Foundation

ZOiS was established by a decision of the German parliament, and is financed by the German Foreign Ministry. The Centre’s academic independence is guaranteed by its organisational structure, which is that of a non-profit enterprise under German law (gGmbH). A Foundation functions as the shareholder of the gGmbH. The Board of the Foundation is made up of representatives of academia, parliament and ministries. An international Academic Advisory Board strengthens our research profile.

Academic Advisory Board

According to the ZOiS Articles of Association, the Academic Advisory Board shall have at least five and at most twelve members. It currently comprises eleven renowned scholars. Its composition is internationally diverse. Prof. Dr. Timm Beichelt (Europa University Viadrina Frankfurt/Oder) is the chairman of the Academic Advisory Board.

  • Prof. Dr. Margarita M. Balmaceda
    Seton Hall University, USA
  • Prof. Dr. Timm Beichelt (Chairman)
    European University Viadrina Frankfurt/Oder, Germany
  • Prof. Dr. Mark Beissinger
    Princeton University, USA
  • Prof. Dr. Katharina Bluhm
    Freie Universität Berlin, Germany
  • Prof. Dr. Irina Busygina
    Visiting Scholar, Harvard University, Cambridge, USA
  • Ivan Krastev
    Centre for Liberal Strategies, Sofia, Bulgaria
  • Prof. Dr. Sebastian Lentz
    Leibniz-Institut für Länderkunde (IfL), Leipzig, Germany
  • Prof. Dr. Mikhail Minakov (Deputy Chairman)
    Kennan Institute, Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars, Washington D.C., USA
  • Prof. Dr. Catherine Poujol
    National Institute of Oriental Languages and Civilizations (INALCO), Paris, France
  • Prof. Dr. Ulrich Schmid
    University of St. Gallen, Switzerland
  • Prof. Dr. Silvia von Steinsdorff
    Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Germany